Watervliet Police Department

our agency

Watervliet Police NY Patch The City of Watervliet Police Department is a full service law enforcement agency averaging approximately 1,500 calls for service each month. The department consists of the chief of police, one lieutenant, five patrol sergeants, one detective sergeant, one detective, sixteen patrol officers, one secretary and two crossing guards.

The Patrol Division is broken into three tours of duty; First Platoon (12 A.M. to 8 A.M.), Second Platoon (8 A.M. to 4 P.M.) and Third Platoon (4 P.M. to 12 A.M.). Patrol officers are deployed on foot, bicycle and in mobile patrols serving those who live, work and visit Watervliet.

The Lieutenant serves as the executive officer for the agency and is responsible for oversight of all three divisions, Operations, Investigations and Administration.

Patrol Sergeants serve as platoon commanders and all share responsibility in a myriad of cross-functional duties as we advance our agency.

Criminal Investigations are responsible for investigating property crimes, violent offenses, sex crimes, narcotics, domestic violence, and financial crimes. The Detective Sergeant serves as Task Force Officer with our partners in Federal and State agencies.

Marge Cavanaugh is our secretary who serves as the confidential assistant to the Chief of Police and is responsible for records management.